on language

lunedì 14 maggio '07 at 1:36 pm (english, quotes, trivial, writing)

I was reading a few posts from the TechWriters mailing list I subscribe to (techwr-l@lists.techwr-l.com), and it’s so funny and amazing how everything can be read on several levels. Or is it just me and my deep-seated paranoia?

“I avoid the word appear. It’s too magical.”

“I try to use only the present tense. If needed, I use the simple past. I avoid the future tense as much as I can, as it is usually unnecessary.”

“Keep the word count down. Avoid conversational terms that add word count without adding meaning.”

“I use a simple philosophy that works every time: Never say anything, to anyone, anywhere, that I’m not prepared to read on the front page of the newspaper tomorrow morning. “

And here, a little bit of insight about the interviewing process:

“The thing to remember is that interviewing a candidate is not like being on a jury. You don’t have a moral or ethical duty to give the person the benefit of a doubt or to belief in proof of unsuitability beyond a resonable doubt. It’s more like dating. You’re selecting someone who is going to become a very important part of your life, because how well he/she does the job under your supervision will directly affect how your superiors judge *your* job performance. If both you and the other person are not looking at each other with stars in your eyes at the very beginning, it’s unlikely that things are going to get much better with time. Possible, but unlikely.”

“I’ve seen enough of people developing over the decades to agree with this. You’re born to write, or to code, or to be a project manager. And some of us were born to loaf when we’re not developing our strengths and talents.”

… and I was born to.. ? (tick all that apply)

[  ] suffer
[  ] piss people off
[  ] write
[  ] drink caipirinha
[  ] complain
[  ] roam around
[  ] dwell in peace, love and happiness ^_^

“You get ideas from daydreaming. You get ideas from being bored. You get ideas all the time. The only difference between writers and other people is we notice when we’re doing it.” — Neil Gaiman

By the way, I don’t know who this fellow is, but he definitely has some good quotes!! And boy, do I love quotes ;-)

“I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious ambiguity.” — Gilda Radner (I hate ambiguity!!)

“If I never met you, I wouldn’t like you. If I didn’t like you, I wouldn’t love you. If I didn’t love you, I wouldn’t miss you. But I did, I do, and I will.” — Unknown (sadly.. this is a delicious quote)

Lascia un commento

